Brief History

The history of The Presbyterian Church of India (PCI) began in the year 1841, with the coming of Rev. Thomas Jones I and his wife who arrived at Sohra on 22nd June, 1841 as the First Missionary of the Presbyterian Church of Wales (then Welsh Calvinistic Methodist Missionary Society). From Sohra (Cherrapunjee) the ministry of evangelization spread to Sylhet (in present day Bangladesh), Cachar Plains, the Cachar Hills of Assam, the Lushai Hills (now Mizoram) and later on to Manipur and Tripura.

As the work made rapid progress, the Khasi Jaintia Assembly was created in 1896. The church grew in character and membership and eventually, the Synod of the Presbyterian Church in Assam was constituted in 1926 as the highest Church Court having two constituent Assemblies viz. Khasi Jaintia Presbyterian Church Assembly and Lushai Assembly.

  • In 1953, the highest Church Court the ‘Synod’ was renamed ‘Assembly’ while each of the constituent Assemblies was called Synod.
  • In 1968, the name Presbyterian Church of Assam was changed to the Presbyterian Church of North-East India (PCNEI).
  • In 1992, the name ‘Presbyterian Church of India’ was adopted.
  • In 2002, the highest Church Court the ‘Assembly’ was renamed to the ‘General Assembly’ of the Presbyterian Church of India.